REQUIEM - J. Brahms

This page is from the site www.singingpractice.co.uk where you can find many more pieces to help you with your choir practice.

File download area

The files accessed from this page contain the vocal parts synthesised in Musical Instrument Digital Interface or MIDI format. The quality of the sound you hear will depend on the quality of your own sound card and sound system on your computer. The singers part will be on the right stereo channel with the greatest volume, the rest of the voices in that choir with lesser volume on the left stereo channel, and the contimuo balanced across both stereo channels at a lower volume. Thus if you set your stereo balance to the centre you will hear a reasonable balance of all parts and still be able to distinguish your part. However if you set the balance to the right, you should hear your part dominating strongly. Conversely, if you set the balance to the left, your part should be almost inaudible (for confident singers, who probably don't need this help anyway!)

If you are using stereo headphones the effect can be achieved by offsetting the relevant earpiece so you hear less or no sound from it.

Please note that this is strictly for practice, and you should not expect a particularly pleasant sound, and no dynamics.

Find your voice in the table alongside the piece of music you wish to hear or load down. To hear the midi file played, just click on it. Depending on your browser settings the file may play at once with QuickTime, or with Media Player, or you may get a pop-up which will offer you the option to "Open" the file, or "Save" it with some warnings about safety. If you only wish to save the file without playing it, its better to right-click and follow the drop-down menu to the "Save" option. In either case, you will be asked to choose where on your computer to place it.

For those who copy to their own computer and use a program to play the piece, the bar numbers you see will match the score, and the enhanced part will be on Midi channel 4.

J. Brahms - REQUIEM (English - Novello 1934)

Title of Piece ComposerVersions for each part
No 1. Blest are They that Mourn J. Brahms Sop Alt Ten Bas
No 2. All Flesh Doth Perish J. Brahms Sop Alt Ten Bas
No 3.Lord, Make Me to Know J. Brahms Sop Alt Ten Bas
No 4. How Lovely Are Thy Dwellings J. Brahms Sop Alt Ten Bas
No 5. Ye Who Know Sorrow J. Brahms Sop Alt Ten Bas
No 6. On This Earth J. Brahms Sop Alt Ten Bas
No 7. Blessed Are The Dead J. Brahms Sop Alt Ten Bas
  1. Note on Quality - These files were originally designed to match the German edition. Modifications have been made to match the few differences in the English underlay according to Novello's 1934 edition. Apologies if some of the entries have been missed!